February 2013. Truth through Gossip (sent to Hibernia Road Gurdwara)

The President, Committee & Trustees, Gurdwara Sri Guru Singh Sabha, Alice Way, Hanworth Road, Hounslow, TW3 3UA

Re: Fraud – salacious & unsubstantiated accusations.

Dear Sevadars Ji, Satsiriakalji.

GossipAlthough the letter will concern the entire gurdwara primarily it is the executive & trustees on whom is bestowed the responsibility of cold analysis of the points tabled below.

The Fraud:

If I earned £25K pa, working fulltime for a local authority for 15 years, yet successfully applied for a £220K mortgage claiming an earned income of £85k, would you call that fraud?

If I then housed lodgers in the dwelling, earning £1K per month for over 5 years as I could not afford the repayment of £1250pm on my net salary of  £1450 pm, but did not disclose this income for tax purposes, would you call that tax evasion?

You being law-abiding citizens will be pleased to learn that the person who committed this fraud got ‘found out’ and was forced to sell the house, under market price, and pay back the fraudulent loan and suffer its criminal consequences; and in addition is being chased by the tax authority.

Judgement:

Trustees and executive committee members entertained the person in question, and these individuals took sides with the fraudster, allowing the fraudster to mudsling and run me down. This fraudster fabricates outlandish stories about me in order to discredit me. This fraudster has a history of discrediting persons it dislikes. The gurdwara’s senior personnel were well aware of this person’s past antics but allowed them to malign me maliciously on your premises since some individual senior personnel hold a grudge against me.

I could have sued the entire committee. At that time I did not because Sikhs would have been seen washing their dirty laundry in public. Something I find distasteful.

I will not accept an apology from this gurdwara as commonsense should have been used at the outset of such muck-throwing; sadly commonsense was the one thing missing in the debacle. Instead, this gurdwara committee has exemplified that it is powered by an emotional urge to act, and lacks rationale. Senior members of this gurdwara claimed that due to this person’s unsubstantiated allegations they ‘had enough dirt’ on me to cast aspersions about my character and integrity!

Shame on you.

In future, I suggest that malicious muck-slingers should be guided to seek legal redress for their complaints, and senior gurdwara personnel should refrain from using the gurdwara premises as their own fiefdom for settling score.

If you as a gurdwara have something against me personally then please have the decency to write to me with the accusations and await my response. I am a victim of a lot of grapevine gossip, but as yet not a single person has had the guts to bring anything to me and allow the material to be tested in a court. I wonder why?

Gossip, however salacious, never leads to truth.

I would like to think that all of you are engaged in a duty to the gurus of Sikhism and not your own worship. I pray that you find peace in your seva. But thus far one things stands out about some of the senior sevadars of this gurdwara and that one thing is not very awe-inspiring in my opinion. I am sure you will endeavour to prove me wrong by correcting even the slightest failure you may notice that exists in you, or is brought to your attention, unless you happen to be perfect.

I on the other hand was born imperfect, enjoy being imperfect and live as an imperfection.

Thus, I judge no one.

How about you?

Satsiriakalji,

Avtar

2 thoughts on “February 2013. Truth through Gossip (sent to Hibernia Road Gurdwara)

  1. The sevadars in this gurdwara should not allowed to be there. Mr Grewal sits there like a dictator and has enough of a constant frown on his face to put you off getting married at this gurdwara. Anything you need doing at the gurdwara will always be questioned, that’s when you know something dodgy is going on. They want everything but give nothing. Our gurdwareh are being run by non believing, selfish people. Especially the woman that sits in the office at Havelock aswell. Just like india, the system is not what you know, its who you know.

    • My Dear Singh, sad though it is but true. historically this has been a fact. in the future the same problems will exist. so let us thank the ones who atleast take time out to act as ‘sevadars’. please see their failure and try not to copy their narrow minds. observe and side step matters. focus on your own development. i hope my answer did not disappoint you too much. avtar.

Comments are closed.